ARIZONA STATE REQUIREMENTS
48 hours of Arizona-approved insurance continuing education, which must include at least 6 hours of ethics training every 4 years.
- Licenses expire on the last day of the birth month, every 3-4 years based on license issuance. May not exceed 48 months.
COURSES ACCEPTED FOR CE CREDIT
- Classroom / Seminar / Conference / Teleconferences / Webinars
- Self-Study Courses
- Online Courses
- Instructors may earn double credit hours for teaching a classroom course for five or more students. AZ licensee who are instructors may earn instructor credit
only once during a compliance period.
COURSE SUBJECT REQUIREMENTS
- Ethics requirement of 6 (six) hours for licensees.
- Any approved course, without regard to the type of license held, may be taken for CE credit.
- Effective January 1, 2021, licensees who sell annuity products will need to complete a new annuity course that includes the new Best Interest rules.
- Licensees who have already completed a 4-hour annuity course prior to 1/1/2021 may complete a 1-hour annuity best interest course or complete the new 4-hour annuity best interest course. The one hour must be completed before 6/30/21.
- Licensees who have not completed a 4-hour annuity course must take the annuity best interests course prior to selling annuities.
LONG TERM CARE REQUIREMENT
- Initial 8-hour training requirement: Before selling, soliciting or negotiating LTC insurance products in Arizona, a producer must be licensed with the “Accident and
Health or Sickness” line of authority; and have completed eight (8) hours of Arizona approved initial LTC training.
- Ongoing 4-hour training requirement: A 4-hour follow-up course must be completed after the two-year period in which the person satisfied the initial 8-hour LTC training
- Non-residents who satisfy the LTC training requirements of another state that are similar to Arizona’s law will be deemed compliant for Arizona’s requirement.
- Credit hours cannot be carried over to the next compliance period
- Credit will not be given for a course that is repeated within a compliance period
- Self-study exams must be monitored by a CE provider director or a designee of the provider; or, an Arizona licensee who supervises the student completing an exam. The
monitoring process must ensure that the student will complete the exam and that the specified conditions of administration are observed. Exams must be kept sealed until the exam
starts. Providers may allow exams to be administered on an open-book basis. Providers who require closed-book exams must be sure that students are notified in advance of that
requirement. The monitor and licensee must sign the Affidavit of Personal Responsibility. Providers may not refer students to the Arizona Department of Insurance for a proctor.
Providers must retain the Affidavits.
- Specific Monitor Affidavit Needed
- Producers who have been “continuously licensed” in AZ as an insurance agent, broker or producer since January 1st, 1995.
- Non-residents whose home state has a continuing education requirement, are not required to complete Arizona continuing education.