State Requirements

COLORADO STATE REQUIREMENTS

Continuing Education 24 Hours Biennially
Including 3 Hours of Ethics

LICENSE RENEWAL

  • License renewal date is the last day of the agent’s birth month every two years. Even birth years renew every even year. Odd birth years renew every odd year.

COURSES ACCEPTED FOR CE CREDIT

  • Classroom Courses / Lectures or Seminars
  • Self-Study Courses
  • Online Courses
  • An Instructor can earn the same number of credit hours as a student

COURSE SUBJECT REQUIREMENTS

  • Three (3) hours of ethics each compliance period
  • At least eighteen (18) hours must cover the lines of insurance for which the producer is licensed

ANNUITY REQUIREMENT

  • Before selling, soliciting, or negotiating annuity products in Colorado producers must complete a one-time annuity training course approved for at least 4 hours.
  • Non-residents who satisfy the training requirements of another state that are similar to Colorado’s law will be deemed compliant for Colorado’s requirement.

LONG TERM CARE REQUIREMENT

  • Initial 16-hour training requirement: Before selling LTC policies in Colorado producers must complete 16 hours of state approved LTC training. Part 1 of the 16 hours shall consist of 8 hours on general LTC, which can be taken online self-study or in a classroom, and Part 2 shall consist of 8 hours specific to LTC partnership, which must be taken in a classroom
  • Ongoing 5-hour training requirement: After completing the initial 16-hour training, producers continuing to sell LTC must complete no less than 5 hours of ongoing training in a classroom setting every 2 calendar years after the initial completion
  • Non-residents who satisfy the training requirements of another state that are similar to Colorado’s law will be deemed compliant for Colorado’s requirement.

CARRYOVER REQUIREMENT

  • Up to twelve (12) credit hours can be carried over to the next compliance period if the courses were taken in the final 120 days of the compliance period

COURSE REPETITION

  • Credit will not be given for a course that is repeated within 2-years of its original completion date. All eligible courses will have a different course number

FINAL EXAM

  • Final exams are required to be monitored by a disinterested third party. Monitors may not serve for examinations of family members, relatives, or dependents; employers or supervisors; employees or subordinates; partners, joint ventures, or co-owners; or for anyone in whom the monitor or instructor has an economic or other interest in assuring the successful outcome of the examination.
  • General Monitor Affidavit Needed.

EXEMPTIONS

  • Non residents licensed and in good standing who have satisfied the CE requirements in their home state, and must pay a biennial continuation fee to the Colorado Division of Insurance.
  • Limited lines
  • First time licensees have until the 2nd continuation cycle to comply with CE requirements

For Additional Information please contact:

Colorado Division of Insurance
1560 Broadway, Suite 850
Denver, CO 80202

Phone: 303-894-7499
Fax: 303-894-7455

State Website: doi.colorado.gov

Revised 5/27/21