DELAWARE STATE REQUIREMENTS
Continuing Education 24 Hours Biennially
Including 3 Hours of Ethics
- License renewal is the last day of February in even numbered years
- Residents renew even numbered years
- Non-residents renew odd numbered years
COURSES ACCEPTED FOR CE CREDIT
- Classroom Courses
- Self-Study Courses
- Online Courses
- Instructors will receive the same amount of credit hours as the attendees
- Individuals continuously licensed for 25 years or more and/or who hold a CPU, CPCU or other professional designation with annual education requirements receive an
automatic credit of 12 hours biennially
COURSE SUBJECT REQUIREMENTS
- An insurance Producer who engages in the sale of Annuity Products is required to complete a one-time four (4) credit training course. Insurance Producers who hold a life insurance line of authority and who desire to sell annuities MUST complete the training. The satisfaction of the training requirements in another State that are substantially similar to the provisions in the Delaware regulation, are deemed to satisfy the training requirements in Delaware.
- Effective August 1, 2021 producers who hold a life line of authority and are already certified to sell annuities, shall by February 1, 2022 complete either a new one-time four-hour annuity best interest course approved by the DOI after August 1, 2021, or a one-time one-hour best interest annuity course. Individuals who obtain a life line of authority on or after August 1, 2021, may not engage in the sale of annuities until the four-hour best interest course has been completed. The satisfaction of training requirements of another state that are substantially similar are considered to satisfy the training requirements of Delaware. Each insurer will be responsible for verifying producer compliance prior to selling its annuity products in Delaware. The Order may be viewed at here.
LONG TERM CARE REQUIREMENT
- Resident Producers holding a health license and who solicit long term care policies must complete at least three (3) hours of training in Delaware long term care insurance that consists of product knowledge, laws, rules and regulations as part of his/her biennial requirement.
- Non-resident producers must complete the state approved training course before selling, soliciting, or negotiating LTC products in Delaware.
- Up to five (5) credit hours can be carried over to the next compliance period.
- Excess hours in the Ethics, LTC, or Flood requirement will carry forward as general credit
- Credit will not be given for a course that is repeated within a compliance period.
- No monitor required for a final exam.
- Limited lines
- Delaware will reciprocate with non-residents completing their C.E. in their home state or designated home state.