FLORIDA STATE REQUIREMENTS
Agents licensed for less than 6 years must complete 19 hours of elective continuing education courses every 2 years [F.S. § 626.2815(3)(a)]; agents licensed for 6 or more years must complete a minimum of 15 hours of elective continuing education courses every 2 years [F.S. § 626.2815(3)(b)]. The 4 hour Law and Ethics Requirement must be completed each compliance period.
- Florida licenses are perpetual, but will expire if there are 48 months without an appointment.
Failure to complete continuing education requirements which are reported on the last day of the
agent’s birth month biennially, may result in cancellation of appointments.
COURSES ACCEPTED FOR CE CREDIT
- Classroom Courses
- Self-Study Courses
- Online Courses
- Seminars – expires 12 months from approval date
- Instructors will receive the same amount of credit hours as the attendees
- Active courses do not expire, but courses which have not been offered for a period of 5 years will be terminated
- All approved courses in any license category are considered electives and may be taken for CE for any license type.
The only exception is the 4 hour update courses which are required to be license specific
COURSE SUBJECT REQUIREMENTS
- All approved courses may be taken by any license type with the exception of the 4 hour update requirement;
Agents must take the required course authority that pertains to their license type
4 HOUR LAW and ETHICS REQUIREMENT
- Florida HB 725 requires that 4 hours of the required continuing education for all licensees’
be an up-to-date course specific to the license held. For licensee’s holding 2 different licenses,
the 4 hour update course must be completed in the subject area of at least one of their license types.
- Florida has not adopted the NAIC Model Regulation but has expanded the suitability requirement to include all ages.
LONG TERM CARE REQUIREMENT
- Initial 8 hours LTC – Must include state specific content
- 4 hours LTC every 2 years following
- Up to twenty-four (24) credit hours can be carried over to the next compliance period.
- Continuing education credit may not be earned for attending or instructing at any subsequent
offering of the same continuing education course within a 24 month period.
- The 4 hour update course must be submitted as a new course with new information in the outline
each year. It will be given a new course ID after each approval, and is not considered a duplication.
- The examination may be taken without a proctor provided the student presents to the provider a sworn
acknowledgment certifying that the student did not consult any written materials or receive outside assistance
from any person directly or indirectly, while taking the examination.
- Licensees in the first 24 months of licensure.