HAWAII STATE REQUIREMENTS
Continuing Education 24 Hours Biennially
Including 3 Hours of Ethics or Hawaii Law
- Effective 1/1/22 licenses renewal date is on the last day of their birth month. Even numbered months renew in even numbered years, odd numbered months in odd numbered years.
COURSES ACCEPTED FOR CE CREDIT
- Classroom Courses
- Self-Study Courses
- Correspondence Courses
- Online Courses
- Instructors shall receive the same credit as licensees taking the course taken once for every two-year renewal cycle.
COURSE SUBJECT REQUIREMENTS
- Three (3) hours of Ethics and / or the insurance laws and rules.
- Twenty-One (21) credit hours shall pertain to subjects relating to the line of insurance.
- Excess ethics for producers will count towards the general requirement as long as they are completed in the license type held.
- The state of HI has adopted the NAIC Best Interest Standards. Effective December 31, 2022: Licensees who have already completed a 4-hour annuity course prior to 12/31/2022 will need to complete either a 1-hour annuity best interest course or a 4-hour annuity best interest course by 7/01/2023. Licensees who obtain a life or variable annuity products line of authority after December 31, 2022, shall not engage in the sale of annuities until the producer has completed a four-hour annuity best interest training course.
LONG TERM CARE REQUIREMENT
- NAIC LTCI producer training requirement passed. Producer training won’t be required until a Partnership is implemented, and Hawaii has yet to file a State Plan Amendment.
- Credit hours cannot be carried over to the next compliance period.
- Credit will be earned only for the first time a course is taken in a renewal period. A licensee may attend the course for a second time but will not receive CE
credits for the same course code.
- Final exams are required to be monitored by a disinterested third party. A self-study course examination shall not be administered by a person who:
- (1) is related to, or is a business associate of, the licensee taking the examination; or
- (2) has a financial interest of a licensee taking the examination.
- General Monitor Affidavit Needed.
- A licensee who has been licensed for less than two (2) years at the time of the licensee’s first renewal.
- Limited licenses.
- Non-resident agents are exempt if home state has a reciprocal agreement with Hawaii.