IDAHO STATE REQUIREMENTS
Continuing Education 24 Hours Biennially
Including 3 Hours of Ethics
- The license term is the last day of the licensee’s birth month every 2 years.
COURSES ACCEPTED FOR CE CREDIT
- Classroom Courses
- Self-Study Courses
- Online Courses
- One hour of CE will be awarded for each hour completed as an instructor
COURSE SUBJECT REQUIREMENTS
- All agents must take three (3) hours of ethics each compliance period.
- Licensees may complete their 24-hour CE requirement by taking courses approved for any line of authority.
- A One-time four (4) hour training must be completed prior to selling annuity products. Non-residents who satisfy the training requirement with another state that are similar to Idaho’s law will be deemed compliant for Idaho’s requirement
- Effective July 1, 2021, Idaho insurance producers with a life line of authority will be required to complete a minimum of four credit hours of annuity best interest continuing education (CE) approved by the Department of Insurance (Department) and provided by a Department-approved education provider. Producers who have taken the previously approved four-hour suitability course may within six months of July 1, 2021, take either a one-hour update course or the updated best interest four-hour course to satisfy the new requirement. New producers licensed on or after July 1, 2021, must complete a one-time four-hour approved annuity best interest training course. The insurer is responsible for compliance with the Annuity Consumer Protection Act.
LONG TERM CARE REQUIREMENT
- Initial eight (8) hours LTC
- Four (4) hours LTC every 2 years following
- Credit hours cannot be carried over to the next compliance period
- Courses may not be repeated within a renewal period but may be repeated in a subsequent renewal period
- No monitor required for a final exam
- Limited lines producers
- Non-resident licensees in good standing with their home states
- Agents on inactive status