MASSACHUSETTS STATE REQUIREMENTS
Continuing Education 60 Hours in the initial Triennial Period (can be less
than 3 years but must be more than 2 years) including 3 hours of Ethics.
Continuing Education 45 Hours Triennially thereafter, including 3 hours of Ethics.
- The CE compliance period is now based on the license renewal date, which is every 3 years based upon the licensee’s date of birth.
COURSES ACCEPTED FOR CE CREDIT
- Classroom Courses (No 1 hour courses allowed)
- Self-Study Courses
- Online Courses
- Instructors receive the approved number of credit hours for teaching a course, once during each triennium.
COURSE SUBJECT REQUIREMENTS
- Producers may complete their CE requirement by taking courses approved for any line of authority.
Effective December 9th, 2022, licensees who sell annuity products will need to complete an annuity course covering the NAIC Best Interest Standards.
- Licensees who have already completed a 4-hour annuity course prior to 12/9/2022 may complete a 1-hour annuity best interest course or complete the new 4-hour annuity best interest course. Licensees will only have until 6/1/2023 to be able to take the 1-hour course.
- Licensees who have not completed an annuity course must take the 4-hour annuity best interest course prior to selling annuities.
Residents and non-residents who have completed training including the NAIC Best Interest Standards in another state with laws similar to Massachusetts law will be deemed compliant with this requirement.
LONG TERM CARE REQUIREMENT
- An individual shall not sell, solicit or negotiate Long-Term Care insurance in the Commonwealth unless the individual is licensed as an insurance producer for health, accident or sickness and has completed a 1-time training course. The training shall meet the requirements set forth as follows:
- The 1-time training requirement by this section shall be not less than eight (8) hours and the ongoing training required shall be not less than four (4) hours every 24 months.
- For residents and non-residents who have completed an initial or / and ongoing NAIC LTC Training course in another state, they MUST take a 2-hour MassHealth Training course specific to Massachusetts.
- Up to 45 credit hours can be carried over to the next compliance period.
- Credit will not be given for a course that is repeated within 3 years after the first completion date.
- Self-study examinations must be proctored by an approved disinterested third-party. The proctoring process must ensure that the examination will be completed by the student, on a closed-book basis without assistance, and the specified conditions of administration are observed.
- The monitor cannot be a family member, nor can it be someone who has a financial interest.
- Specific Monitor Affidavit needed.
- Non-residents, if licensee meets CE requirements for home or any state where an active license is held.
- Individuals licensed prior to April 4, 1983 are exempt from CE requirements as long as they remain continuously licensed.