State Requirements

MARYLAND STATE REQUIREMENTS

Continuing Education 24 Hours Biennially
Including 3 Hours of Ethics

LICENSE RENEWAL

  • License renewal date is the last day of the producers birth month
  • As of January 1st, 2020 producers MUST complete their CE 15 days prior to renewal date
  • As of January 27th, 2020 licensed insurance producers MUST complete at least 24 hours of continuing education in each renewal period and provided that licensed insurance producers who, as of October 1st, 2008, held licenses for 25 or more consecutive years successfully complete 8 hours of continuing education in each renewal period. Additionally, a licensed insurance producer must obtain at least 3 hours of continuing education in Ethics.

COURSES ACCEPTED FOR CE CREDIT

  • Classroom Courses / Webinars
  • Self-Study Courses
  • Online Courses (Only 50% of continuing education credits can be online)
  • Instructors shall receive 1.5 times the approved credit as the student

COURSE SUBJECT REQUIREMENTS

  • Courses must be approved for lines of insurance for which license is held
  • LH/PC combined licensees must complete 6 hours in each LH and PC
  • Excess Ethics credits may not be applied to cover the minimum hours needed in each license specific requirement

ANNUITY REQUIREMENT

  • Before selling, soliciting, or negotiating annuity products in Maryland, producers must complete a one-time annuity training course approved for at least 4 hours

LONG TERM CARE REQUIREMENT

  • NAIC training passed for 8 hours initially, 4 hours every-compliance. Compliance for 8 hour training 9/10/08
  • While the state law requiring two hours CE in LTC every two years has not changed, completion of the 8 hour initial training and the ongoing 4 hours each compliance period meets both the LTC regulation and the previous law

CARRYOVER REQUIREMENT

  • Credit hours cannot be carried over to the next compliance period

COURSE REPETITION

  • Credit will not be given for a course that is repeated within a compliance period
  • If the courses are taken in 2 consecutive reporting periods, there must be 6 months between completion dates

FINAL EXAM

  • No monitor required for a final exam

EXEMPTIONS

  • Agents licensed prior to 10/1/08 and have continuously held a license in Maryland for 25 years are required to complete only 8 credits of CE
  • Non-residents having met the CE requirements of their home state

For Additional Information please contact:

Maryland Insurance Administration
ATTN: Producer Licensing Unit
200 St. Paul Place, Suite 2700
Baltimore, Maryland 21202

Phone: 800-492-6116
Producer Licensing: 410-468-2411
Producer Licensing Fax: 410-468-2399

State Website: mdinsurance.state.md.us

Revised 10/25/19