State Requirements

MAINE STATE REQUIREMENTS

Continuing Education 24 Hours Biennially
Including 3 Hours of Ethics

Effective January 1, 2022 Resident producers who hold a line of authority for a major line(s) (Life and/or Health) continuing education hours for the biennial renewal period will change to a total of 18 hours with at least three of those hours in ethics. The remaining 15 hours are at the producer’s discretion, so long as the hours are approved by the Department. There is no longer a limit for the number of hours of “Insurance Agency Management” (IAM) CE courses than an agent may take.


LICENSE RENEWAL

  • License renewal date is the last day of the agent’s birth month, every 2 years. Even birth years renew every even year. Odd birth years renew every odd year.

COURSES ACCEPTED FOR CE CREDIT

  • Classroom Courses
  • Self-Study Courses
  • Online Courses

COURSE SUBJECT REQUIREMENTS

  • Three (3) hours of ethics every compliance period
  • Producers may complete their 24-hour CE requirement by taking courses approved for any line of authority

ANNUITY REQUIREMENT

  • Effective January 1, 2022, licensees who sell annuity products will need to complete a new annuity course that includes the new Best Interest rules. Licensees who have already completed a 4-hour annuity course prior to 1/1/2022 may complete a 1-hour annuity best interest course or complete the new 4-hour annuity best interest course. Licensees who have not completed a 4-hour annuity course must take the annuity best interests course prior to selling annuities. Courses can be taken prior to the effective date.

LONG TERM CARE REQUIREMENT

  • Initial 8-hour LTC training requirement: Before selling LTC insurance products in Maine, producers must complete an initial 8-hour, state-approved LTC training course.
  • Ongoing 4-hour LTC training requirement: After completing the initial 8-hour training requirement, LTC producers must complete 4 hours of state-approved LTC training every renewal cycle.
  • Non-residents who satisfy the training requirements of another state that are similar to Maine's law will be deemed compliant for Maine’s requirement.

CARRYOVER REQUIREMENT

  • Credit hours cannot be carried over to the next compliance period

COURSE REPETITION

  • Credit will not be given for a course that is repeated within a compliance period

FINAL EXAM

  • As of July 1, 2021, Resident producer self-study type continuing education courses will no longer require a proctor for the exam portion.

EXEMPTIONS

  • Individuals licensed less than one year at the time of the first CE compliance date are exempt for that first reporting period
  • Non Residents who meet their home state CE requirements if that state is Maine
  • Limited Lines

For Additional Information please contact:

Maine Bureau of Insurance
76 Northern Avenue
Gardiner, ME 04345

Licensing Division
Phone: 207-624-8475
Fax: 207-624-8599

State Website: maine.gov

Revised 8/16/21