MINNESOTA STATE REQUIREMENTS
Continuing Education 24 Hours Biennially
Including 3 Hours of Ethics
- The license renewal date is the last day of the producer’s birth month
- Agents must have their CE credit hours posted prior to their expiration date and prior to applying to renew their insurance license(s)
COURSES ACCEPTED FOR CE CREDIT
- General - Classroom
- General - Company Sponsored
- General - Distance Learning
- NO more than one-half of the credit hours per licensing period may be sponsored by, offered by, or affiliated with an insurance company or it’s agents
- May not complete more than 8 hours of CE each day. If a course is worth more than 8 hours the exam must be taken in more than 1 day. For example, if a course is worth 24 hours it must be completed in 3 days.
- Instructors can receive extra credit for courses they teach by submission of the "Application for Instructor Extra Credit" by the Education Provider.
The Department of Commerce will approve or deny the request and apply the appropriate credits. Repetition rules apply
COURSE SUBJECT REQUIREMENTS
- Three (3) Hours of Ethics each compliance
- Licensees may complete their CE requirement by taking courses approved for any line of authority
- All producers currently licensed to sell, solicit, and negotiate annuity products must complete a one-time annuity training course approved for at least 4 hours
- Non-residents who satisfy the training requirements of another state that are similar to Minnesota’s law will be deemed compliant for Minnesota’s annuity training requirement
LONG TERM CARE REQUIREMENT
- Before selling, soliciting, or negotiating LTC insurance products in Minnesota, producers must complete an initial 8-hour state-approved LTC training course.
- After completing the 8-hour initial training requirement, producers must complete 4 hours of state-approved LTC training every 24-month period following the completion of the initial training and every 24 months thereafter.
- Nonresident producers having not previously completed an initial 8 hour NAIC training in any state must complete an initial 8-hour NAIC LTC training course and a Minnesota-specific course or supplement.
- For non-residents who have completed the initial 8-hour LTC Partnership course in another state, they must take a 2-hour LTC training course, specific to Minnesota.
- After completing the 8-hour initial training requirement, nonresident producers must complete 4 hours of NAIC LTC training every 24-month period following the completion of the initial training and every 24-months thereafter.
- Credit hours cannot be carried over to the next compliance period
- Credit will not be given for a course that is repeated within a compliance period
- Internet Courses – The final examination must be either an encrypted online examination or a paper examination that is monitored by a proctor who certifies that the student took the examination. No monitor required for online exam
- Specific Monitor Affidavit needed for paper exams
- Individuals licensed less than 6 months prior to the first renewal date are exempt for the first reporting date.
- Individuals who hold a full-lines license but use it to sell only credit life, credit accident and health, and/or credit property (Must request exemption form from the Department of Commerce.).
- Non residents from a state that has a reciprocal agreement with Minnesota.