State Requirements

MISSOURI STATE REQUIREMENTS

Continuing Education 16 Hours Biennially
Including 3 Hours of Ethics

LICENSE RENEWAL

  • License renewal date is every 2 years from the license issue date.

COURSES ACCEPTED FOR CE CREDIT

  • Classroom Courses (maximum credit for classroom is 16 hours)
  • Self-Study Course (maximum allowable credit for SS is 16 hours)
  • Online Courses
  • Instructors for CE receive the same amount of credit as his/her students

COURSE SUBJECT REQUIREMENTS

  • Three (3) Hours of ethics each compliance period
  • Producers must take courses approved for the line of insurance they are licensed to sell. Producers licensed for multiple lines of authority are not required to divide the educational hours evenly between the lines of authority in which qualified

ANNUITY REQUIREMENT

  • Producers who hold a life insurance line of authority and who intend to engage in the sale of annuity products complete a one-time four (4) hour training course. These requirements apply to both resident and non-resident producers and to all types of annuity products
  • Non-residents who satisfy the training requirements of another state that are similar to the Missouri law will be deemed compliant for the Missouri requirement.

LONG TERM CARE REQUIREMENT

  • 8 hours initial LTC training course, 4 hours every 24 months thereafter
  • Non-residents who satisfy the training requirements of another state that are similar to the Missouri law will be deemed compliant for the Missouri requirement

CARRYOVER REQUIREMENT

  • Excess CE credit hours may be carried forward only to the compliance period immediately following the current period

COURSE REPETITION

  • Credit will not be given for a course that is repeated within a compliance period

FINAL EXAM

  • A disinterested third party must proctor self-study exams. Open book examinations will not be allowed. The licensee will not be allowed access to books, notes, or any other reference material or information that would give them the answers to the examination questions
  • Specific Monitor Affidavit needed "Affidavit of Exam Proctor"

EXEMPTIONS

  • Non-residents if licensee meets home state CE requirements
  • Limited lines

For Additional Information please contact:

Missouri Department of Insurance
Financial Institutions and Professional Registration
License Section
301 W. High Street, Room 530
Jefferson City, MO 65101

Licensing Division
P.O. Box 690
Jefferson City, MO 65102-0690

Phone: 573-751-3518
Fax: 573-526-3416

State Website: insurance.mo.gov

Revised 5/27/21