NEVADA STATE REQUIREMENTS
Continuing Education 30 Hours Biennially
Including 3 Hours of Ethics
- License renewal is every 3 years on the first day of the month following when the license was issued.
COURSES ACCEPTED FOR CE CREDIT
- Classroom Courses
- Self-Study Courses
- Online Courses
COURSE SUBJECT REQUIREMENTS
- Three (3) hours of ethics each compliance period.
- Courses must be approved for lines of insurance for which license is held.
- As of March 2021, Best Interest Model Regulation is pending in the legislature. Nevada’s Securities Administrator indicated the intent to resume work on the state’s proposed regulations in early 2022, with the aim of finalizing the regulations by November 2022.
LONG TERM CARE REQUIREMENT
- Before selling LTC insurance products in Nevada, producers must complete an initial 8-hour, state-approved LTC training course and must complete a 4-hour follow-up training course every 24 months after completion of the initial training.
- Non-residents who satisfy the training requirements of another state that are similar to Nevada’s law will be deemed compliant for Nevada’s requirement.
- Credit hours cannot be carried over to the next compliance period.
- Credit will not be given for course that is repeated within a 3-year period.
- Self-Study exams are closed-book and must be monitored by a disinterested 3rd party. Monitors must not serve for examinations of family members, relatives, or dependents; employers or supervisors; employees or subordinates; partners, joint ventures, or co-owners; or anyone in whom the monitor or instructor has an economic or other interest in assuring the successful outcome of the examination.
- General Monitor Affidavit needed.
- Non-resident agents.
- Individuals who have a limited license.
- Individuals with 20 years or more continuous experience.
- Individuals who have earned CLU, CPCO, CIC, ChFC or CFP designations.