OREGON STATE REQUIREMENTS
Continuing Education 24 Hours Biennially
CE hours must include 3 hours of Oregon law and 3 hours of ethics
- License renewal date is biennially in the month of the birthday anniversary. CE is due before the expiration date and prior to application for renewal.
COURSES ACCEPTED FOR CE CREDIT
- Classroom Courses
- Self-Study Courses
- Online Courses
COURSE SUBJECT REQUIREMENTS
- Three (3) hours of ethics each compliance period
- Three (3) hours of Oregon Law each compliance period
- Courses must be approved for the lines of insurance for which the agent is licensed
- A maximum of 4 hours in approved agency management courses is allowed at each renewal
- No more than 8 credit hours can be earned in one day
- Oregon requires a one time 4 hour annuity training for all agents selling annuity products.
LONG TERM CARE REQUIREMENT
- Initial 8-hour LTC training requirement: Before selling, soliciting, or negotiating LTC insurance products in Oregon, producers must complete an initial 8-hour, state-approved LTC training course.
- Ongoing 4-hour LTC training requirement: After completing the initial 8-hour training requirement, producers must complete
4 hours of state-approved LTC training in every 24-month period thereafter.
- Credit hours cannot be carried over to the next compliance period.
- Courses may not be taken for credit more than once in a compliance period.
- Online interactive self study do not require a monitor.
- Paper-based exams must be monitored.
- Specific Monitor Affidavit signed by BEST Approved representative.
- Non-residents are exempt.
- Individuals holding limited lines licenses for which an exam is not required.