PENNSYLVANIA STATE REQUIREMENTS
Continuing Education 24 Hours Biennially



LICENSE RENEWAL

  • The license renewal date is the last day of the agent’s birth month
COURSES ACCEPTED FOR CE CREDIT
  • Classroom Courses
  • Self-Study Courses
  • Online Courses
  • Instructors will receive double credits for teaching a course. Course repetition rules apply
COURSE SUBJECT REQUIREMENTS
  • Any PA approved course can be completed to satisfy CE requirements
ANNUITY REQUIREMENT
  • EFFECTIVE December 26th, 2018: Before selling, soliciting, or negotiating annuity products in Pennsylvania, producers must complete a one-time annuity suitability course approved for at least 4 hours.
  • All Producers currently licensed to sell annuities in Pennsylvania, must complete at least four (4) continuing education credits in an annuity training course. The continuing education credit requirement shall be met on or before the end of the insurance producer’s next compliance license period occurring after effective date of this section “December 26th, 2018”. For individuals licensed on or after the effective date of this section "December 26th, 2018", the requirement shall be met on or before the end of the insurance producer’s first license period.
  • If the producer has completed a 4 credit hour "annuity suitability" training requirement with another state(s) that are substantially similar to Pennsylvania’s Act 48, then the producer will be deemed compliant. If the producer has completed the "NAIC Suitability in Annuity Transactions Model Regulation" course that complies with the NAIC Annnuity Suitability Model Law (2010), then the producer will be deemed compliant with the four credit annuity suitability CE requirement.
LONG TERM CARE REQUIREMENT
  • Initial 8-hour LTC training requirement: Before selling, soliciting, or negotiating long-term care partnership products, producers must complete an initial 8-hour state-approved training course
  • Ongoing 4-hour LTC training requirement: After completing the initial 8-hour LTC training requirement, producers must complete a 4 hour follow-up training course every 24-month compliance period following the initial training
  • The 1 hour PA Medicaid Long Term Care Training Course is required and included within the 8 Hour Training course
CARRYOVER REQUIREMENT
  • Up to 24 credit hours can be carried over to the next compliance period
COURSE REPETITION
  • Credit will not be given for course that is repeated within a compliance period
FINAL EXAM
  • The exam must be a proctored, closed-book exam with no assistance provided to the student. A disinterested third party (someone other than a supervisor or relative) may proctor the exam
  • Specific Monitor Affidavit needed
EXEMPTIONS
  • Non-residents are exempt
  • Insurance Producers licensed prior to January 1, 1971, that have been continuously licensed and have not added any additional lines of authority
  • Limited lines
  • Individuals exempted by the commissioner due to hardship or good cause such as disability or medical condition
  • Non-residents are exempt if home state has a CE requirement

For Additional Information please contact:

Commissioner's Office

1326 Strawberry Square
Harrisburg, PA 17120

Phone: 717-787-3840
Fax: 717-787-8553

State Website: www.insurance.pa.gov

Revised 3/26/19