Continuing Education 24 Hours Biennially
Including at least 3 Hours Ethics
Note: The number of ethics hours required has been increased from 2 hours to 3 hours for licenses expiring on or after September 30, 2022.
License renewal is the last day of the birth month.
COURSES ACCEPTED FOR CE CREDIT
Classroom Courses – Half of the credit hours must be classroom credit or classroom equivalent
Self-Study Courses – Only 12 of the hours may be Self-Study
COURSE SUBJECT REQUIREMENTS
Two (2) hours (increases to 3 hours after 09/30/22) of ethics each compliance period.
Resident and non-resident agents must take the one-time, four-hour training.
Eight hours of continuing education must be completed during the resident agents’ two-year licensing period.
Non-resident agents are not required to comply with the ongoing eight hour annuity training.
On June 4, 2021, the Texas legislature passed a law amending state’s Suitability of Certain Annuity Transactions statue to adopt the NAIC’s model suitability standard.
Effective September 1, 2021: Licensees who sell annuity products will need to complete a new annuity course that includes the new Best Interest rules. Licensees who have already completed a 4-hour annuity course prior to 09/01/2021 may complete a 1-hour annuity best interest course or complete the new 4-hour annuity best interest course by 01/01/2022.Licensees who have not completed a 4-hour annuity course must take the annuity best interest course prior to selling annuities or before 01/01/2022.
LONG TERM CARE REQUIREMENT
Initial 8 hours LTC Partnership Course which needs to contain state specific information.
Ongoing 4 hours LTC Partnership every 2 years following.
Credit hours may not be carried over to the next compliance period.
Credit will not be given for courses taken more than once in each compliance period.
No monitor required for a final exam / may be open-book.
Individuals who have been licensed in Texas continuously for 20 years or more.
Licensees that are grandfathered in ARE NOT EXEMPT from the new ANNUITY BEST INTEREST requirement.
Extensions or exemptions may be granted for an illness / medical condition (with proof).
Non-residents in good standing in home state that has a reciprocal agreement with Texas.
For Additional Information please contact:
Texas Department of Insurance
Phone: 512-676-6500 or 800-252-3439