VIRGINIA STATE REQUIREMENTS
Agents that hold one (1) license need to complete 16 hours Biennially
Agents that hold two (2) or more licenses need to complete 24 hours Biennially
3 Hours MUST be Ethics or Law and Regulations
- Effective January 1, 2021: License renewal will be biennial based on Month and Year of birth, it will be the last day of your birth month.
- An agent with a birth month of February and born in an even year will have a CE and their license renewal due by the license expiration date of February 28, 2022.
- An agent with a birth month of February and born in an odd year will have a CE and their license renewal due by the license expiration date of February 28, 2023.
- The first license renewal will be due February 28, 2022.
COURSES ACCEPTED FOR CE CREDIT
- Classroom Courses
- Self-Study Courses
- Online Courses
COURSE SUBJECT REQUIREMENTS
- Three (3) hours of Ethics. Insurance laws and regulations courses may apply to ethics. OGI courses will not apply to ethics.
- Agents who need 16 credit hours - All hours must be relevant to license type.
- Agents who need 24 credit hours - At least 8 hours must be specific to each license type.
- Effective September 1, 2021: A producer who engages in the sale of annuity products shall complete a one-time four (4)-credit training course approved by the board and provided by a board-approved education provider. An agent who has completed an annuity suitability four (4)-hour course prior to September 1, 2021, must by March 1, 2022 complete a four (4)-hour or one (1)-hour annuity suitability best interest course. The satisfaction of training requirements of another state that are substantially similar are deemed to satisfy the training requirements of Virginia.
LONG TERM CARE REQUIREMENT
- Initial 8-hour LTC training requirement: Before selling, soliciting, or negotiating LTC insurance products in Virginia, producers must complete an initial 8-hour LTC course. The initial training must consist of 6 hours of general LTC topics and 2 hours of LTC Partnership.
- Ongoing 4-hour LTC training requirement: After completing the 8-hour initial training requirement, producers must complete 4 hours of LTC training every 24-month period. The ongoing training must consist of 2 hours of general LTC topics and 2 hours of LTC Partnership.
- Hours may be carried over to the next reporting period, but hours must be reported in biennium in which course was taken. Excess Ethics credits may be applied to meet any unmet CE requirements in the biennium earned. Any remaining excess ethics credits will carry over and be applied to either the ethics requirement or other CE.
- Credit will not be given for a course that is repeated within a compliance period including courses using alternate format, i.e. web-based presentation of same course.
- Online self-study exams no longer require a proctor, but they do require a student certification form, which acknowledges that the student swears and affirms: they have not used outside assistance including course material, other source material or assistance from any person(s) and that they were engaged in the course for at least an amount of time equal to the credits prior to taking the exam.
- Correspondence self–study exams: the proctor must be a disinterested party over the age of 18 years and unrelated to the student. The Proctor’s Certification must be completed by the proctor and submitted to the course provider by mail, email or, facsimile transmission within seven calendar days of course completion.
- A resident or nonresident agent who is at least 65 and can demonstrate that he/she has held any combination of resident or nonresident Virginia licenses of equivalent type continuously for at least 20 years.
- A resident agent who is at least 65 and will have held a Virginia resident license continuously for at no fewer than 4 years by the end of the biennium and can furnish proof of having held equivalent license authority continuously in other states for an additional 16 years, for a total of 20 years of continuous licensing.
- Individuals who have been licensed less than a year at the time of the 1st compliance date.
- Non-residents in good standing in their home state.