State Requirements

WASHINGTON STATE REQUIREMENTS

Continuing Education 24 Hours Biennially
Including 3 Hours of Ethics

LICENSE RENEWAL

  • Effective December 17th, 2018 the License Renewal date is the last day of the producer’s birth month.

COURSES ACCEPTED FOR CE CREDIT

  • Classroom Courses
  • Self-Study Courses
  • Online Courses

COURSE SUBJECT REQUIREMENTS

  • Three (3) hours of ethics each compliance period
  • Agents can take courses from any license type to complete their CE

ANNUITY REQUIREMENT

  • Before selling, soliciting, or negotiating annuity products producers must complete a Washington approved one time annuity training course approved for at least 4 hours
  • Residents who satisfy the training requirements of another state that are similar to the Washington law will be deemed compliant for the Washington

LONG TERM CARE REQUIREMENT

  • Initial 8-hour LTC training requirement: Before selling, soliciting, or negotiating LTC insurance products, producers must complete an initial 8-hour, state-approved LTC training course
  • Ongoing 4-hour LTC training requirement: From the date of completing the 8-hour initial training requirement, producers must complete 4 hours of state-approved LTC training every 24 months thereafter

CARRYOVER REQUIREMENT

  • Credit hours cannot be carried over to the next compliance period

COURSE REPETITION

  • Credit will not be given for a course that is repeated within a compliance period
  • The WA LTC Refresher 4 Hour Course is exempt from the three year rule and permanently assigned its course number. It may only be taken once during a 24 month period. The first time the refresher can be taken is 24 months after successfully completing the initial training

CLASSROOM REQUIREMENTS

  • Requires photo ID at the time of attendees sign-in
  • If classroom attendees exceed 20, a monitor is required along with the instructor being present

FINAL EXAM

  • No monitor required for a final exam

EXEMPTIONS

  • Nonresidents who meet their state CE requirements, (exception of LTC & LTC Partnership Insurance)
  • Limited lines

For Additional Information please contact:

Office of the Insurance Commissioner, Washington State
5000 Capitol Boulevard SE
Tumwater, WA 98501

800-562-6900

Licensing Division
P.O. Box 40255
Olympia, WA 98504-0255

Phone: 360-725-7144
Fax: 360-586-2019

State Website: insurance.wa.gov

Revised 8/8/19